Meg Munn

Deputy Chair of Sheffield Hallam University Board of Governors

Meg Munn is Deputy Chair of Sheffield Hallam University Board of Governors, Chair of the Remuneration Committee and the governor representative on the university’s Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee. She is the Independent Chair of the Church of England’s National Safeguarding Panel and an independent governance consultant working internationally on parliamentary processes, political party development, gender mainstreaming and women’s leadership.

She is a passionate advocate for gender equality and challenging the engrained culture around gender pay. She has several publications to her name, which include advocating increasing the numbers of women working in science, engineering, technology and construction and developing good practices to support women in politics.

From 2001 to 2015 Meg was the Member of Parliament for Sheffield Heeley, she served as Minister for Women and Equality and subsequently as a Minister in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. She introduced civil partnerships into the UK and was responsible for the Equality Act 2006 which established the Equality and Human Rights Commission. Meg was the first MP to be awarded Chartered Manager status with the Chartered Management Institute, subsequently becoming a Fellow. Before being elected to Parliament, she worked for twenty years in the social work profession.

Key Dates

Now open
Early Bird conference registration

Friday 10 May
Early Bird deadline

Tuesday 21 May
Conference registrations close

Friday 24 May
Joining Instructions sent to delegates

Wednesday 5 - Thursday 6 June 2019

Delegate Fees
Early Bird
Charity Early Bird
Charity Standard
1 Day attendance with dinner
1 Day attendance full day (without dinner attendance)
Confirmed Contributors include

Dean Forbes
Kellie Maloney
Trevor Phillips OBE
Cherron Inko-Tariah MBE
Professor Sir Chris Husbands
Dr Habib Naqvi
Helen Maxwell
Professor Jacqueline Stevenson
James Saville
Julie Dennis
Dr Kit Heyam
Meg Munn
Penny Thompson CBE
Dr Sally Jackson

More info